Walnut brownies


Food memories – I have lots of them! Like the first time I had brownie.

Patrick and I went to the movies at the Penthouse cinema at the top of the Brooklyn Hill in Wellington. I don’t remember what we saw. But I do remember going to the deli before the movie for hot chocolate and a brownie. I think I’d been reading a novel set in the States, so I wanted to try this quintessential American treat. Nibbling the dry slab of cake, I had to wonder what all the fuss was about.

Fortunately North American friends have since introduced me to the rich, dark, moist version that make brownies so popular! The smell and taste of barely-cooked gooey-chocolatey-goodness is one of my fondest memories of our first apartment in Canada.

This week, craving something sweet, I pulled out a new cookbook, and it dropped open on the brownie page. Fate? Try these walnut brownies at your own risk!

Walnut Brownies
(From The Primal Blueprint Cookbook, by Mark Sisson and Jennifer Meier)

1 3/4 cups walnut meal (I ground up some raw walnuts in the food processor until it looked like breadcrumbs)
3/4 cup cocoa (the best you can find)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
2 large eggs
1 cup coconut milk
1/2 cup maple syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup extra virgin coconut oil (gently melted)

  1. In a medium bowl, mix the walnut meal, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs for a minute, then add the coconut milk, maple syrup, vanilla, and oil, whisking until completely blended.
  3. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture, mixing until there are no dry pockets.
  4. Butter a 13 x 9 inch pan.
  5. Pour the mixture into the pan.
  6. Bake for 35-40 minutes at 350 F. Cool before cutting.

This makes a lighter, more crumbly brownie than you might be used to, but it’s good!

2 thoughts on “Walnut brownies

Leave a Reply

